SCCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

| 11 Dec 2017 | 01:39

— Sussex County Community College (SCCC) inducted an amazing group of 73 outstanding students who have shown academic excellence into the most prestigious honor society for community colleges in the United States. A special ceremony was held at the College on November 17 to mark this recognition.
Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for two-year colleges and boasts members throughout the country. Membership is based upon academic achievement. Among the criteria for induction, students must be enrolled in an accredited associate degree program and have a GPA of 3.5 or better. As a member of this organization, these students are eligible to apply for Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarships offered by over 600 four-year colleges and universities located throughout the United States.
Connor Fitzsimmons, SCCC student and PTK president, led the processional and the Pledge of Allegiance while Dr. Jon Connolly, SCCC president, welcomed the students and their families to the reception. Dr. Mercedes Aguirre Batty, chief academic officer and vice president of academic affairs, presented the newly inducted honorees with certificates.
The following individuals were inducted into PTK at the ceremony:
Amber Apfelbaum
Kirsten Biemer
Allison Bookspan
Christopher Borowic
Daphne Boyd-Bermingham
Kara Campbell
Nico Cannone
Candace Chapman
Emily Chayka
Alexis Cohan
Rebecca Cristillo
Steven Curran
Bernard Cutler
Victoria Decepoli
Jacqueline Delaura
Kristen Demarest
Gavin DeYoung
Amber Drake
Kelly Eckert
Amanda Fantasia
Celina Faschan
James Ferguson
Michael Franzone
Sydney Fucito
Alyse Galvin
Jodi Gangwer
Cedric Gaston
Eleanor Hartranft
Olivia Hayenhjelm
Travis Henderson
Diana Jordan
Thomas Lanzilotti
Noelle Little
Nicole Manning
Noel McCabe
Caitlin McDonald
Haley McGeehan
Tara McGovern
Keeley McGregor
Samantha Merrill
Paige Miller
Monica Moore
Faith Morreale
Ashley Antoinette Murch
Christine O’Brien
Shane O’Neill
Kathy Parent
Alejandro Patino
Nicolas Perez
Elizabeth Peterson
Sarah Pope
Samantha Rapp
Danielle Ray
Sal Rinaldo
Raymond Roggero
Alex Romanelli
Kyle Sisco
Elena Sorce
Haley Sparta
Jilyssa Stevens
Alexis Stires
Christopher Stundon
Nicole Swistack
Hailey Szabo
Matthew Traverse
Mario Umanzor
Darius Valentine
Elizabeth Verge
Christopher Wayne
Rayona Webster
Chris Wilson
Catherine Young-Martinez
Helen Zamora-Bustos
SCCC provides an array of higher educational opportunities. For more about SCCC visit <URL destination=" ">