Eight Sparta High School seniors named Commended Students

| 15 Feb 2012 | 09:35

    SPARTA — Nadia Badaoui, Dillon Feldman, Nicolas Gomez, Andrew Harner, Joseph Henning, Shayna Meisel, William Prickett and Layla Samandi have been named Commended Students in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the Director of Guidance to these scholastically talented seniors at the Sparta High School Senior Academic Awards Night in June. About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2012 competition for National Merit Scholarships, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012 competition by “The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”