63 Pope John students earn AP scholar awards

| 15 Aug 2017 | 02:59

SPARTA — The College Board has recognized 63 Pope John XXIII Regional High School students for outstanding achievement on the 2017 Advanced Placement exams.
The College Board's Advanced Placement Program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on a student's performance on AP exams.
Brian Vohden, Pope John’s Supervisor of Academic Instruction, was thrilled with the results.
“Clearly, this is great for the school,” Vohden said. “It’s a testament to the students and the teachers for the hard work they put into learning and preparing for these exams. That’s really impressive.”
Out of these 63 students at Pope John, four students were named National AP Scholar for averaging a score of at least 4 on all AP exams, and earning scores of 4 or higher on eight or more exams. These students are Anna Campbell, Jacob Cooper, Clint Roe and Rebecca Wiltshire.
Vohden was happy to see these four students, who combined for an average score of 4.49, earn this great national honor. Pope John has had at least four National AP Scholar winners in each of the last three years.
“It’s no surprise to see who our four National AP Scholars were,” Vohden said. “These four students were outstanding.”
Nineteen other students were named AP Scholar with Distinction for posting an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams, and earning scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams. These students are Lauryn Adams, David Dietz, Keith Johnson, Zachary Kessler, Finley King, Paul Mayol, Caroline Morris, Maria Oliva, Iolanda Perna, Thomas Perretta, Trevor Potts, Adriana Purcell, Weiyi Qiu, Brendan Schuldner, Andrew Ward, Gregory Zappala, Robert Zappala, Zhen Zeng and James Zignorski.
In addition, eight students were granted AP Scholar with Honor status after averaging a score of 3.25 on all AP exams, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams. These students are Yu Cheng, Sriprudhvi Chirra, Tanner Depuyt, Wyatt Goral, Daniel Kerrison, Griffin Sellinger, Julianne Sturm and Quanliang Xie.
Moreover, 32 students earned the AP Scholar award for posting scores of 3 or higher on three or more exams. The AP Scholar winners are Maycie Bloom, Lena Braendle, Brielle Breheny, Kayla Brutosky, Gabrielle Bubba, Zachary Dole, Caitlyn Fitzmorris, John Geba, Avery Goodman, Lindsey Healy, Victoria Kunesch, Danielle Line, Kathleen Love, Kelly Marron, Christopher Masciarelli, John McGuire, Jeffrey Milton, Gaige Moore, Kevin Nam, Anah Oozeerally, Jordan Paladini, Jack Peters, Shane Plokhoy, Bryan Ryu, Joseph Shelley, Kristyn Spetz, Henry Sullivan, Joseph Valenza, Jesse Vengen, Destiney Voegele, Eric Wolan and Yuan Yuan.
AP scores are reported on a 5-point scale: 5 = extremely well qualified, 4 = well qualified, 3 = qualified, 2 = possibly qualified and 1= no recommendation. Many colleges and universities grant credit and/or advanced placement for scores of 3, 4 or 5.