Lake Mohawk Women's Golf Association Closing Day

Sports. Closing day for the Lake Mohawk Women's Golf Association turned out to be the perfect day for breakfast, golf, recognition of good work, and good companionship.

| 09 Oct 2019 | 11:19

    After the members feasted on a hearty breakfast prepared by Chef Paul Donnelley, Pat Dermody, President of the Lake Mohawk Women's Golf Association, opened the meeting. Social Chair, Julie Killen, was recognized once again for creating beautiful table decorations and coordinating the menu.

    Steve Demmer, Golf Professional, was commended for his job in the pro shop making score cards, checking scores, golf clinics for those new to golf as well as experienced golfers and his everpresent availability to the golfers.

    Nine Booth was wished a big thank you and happy retirement as 9hole tournament chair. She was presented with a golf gadget as a token of appreciation. Barbara Rice will become the new 9hole chair. Lynne Kanofsky, 18 hole and Tournament Chair, presented the 2019 winners with certificates to the Pro Shop. Melva Cummings, Past President, was presented with a golf bag as a token of appreciation for her hard work during the past golf seasons.

    Leslie Plifka, Theater Group Chair, reminded members to get their tickets for "Broadway Returns." The concert was to be held at the SCCC Performing Arts Center on Oct. 10. Patti Cronin leads the Cooking Class gatherings where participants observe preparations by the Chef and join in creating the course. From Mahjong to Book Club, Chairs Clare Gallagher and Maureen Raccioppi encouraged members to participate in their lively fun get togethers.

    The annual holiday celebration has been slated for Dec. 11, 2019.

    The weather proved perfect for golfers choosing to play a 12hole format followed by cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

    Slate of officers for 2020

    President: Pat Dermody

    Vice President: Leslie Plifka

    Treasurer: Carol Cozy

    Secretary: Esther Kashkin

    Women interested in joining the Lake Mohawk Women's Golf Association should contact the Lake Mohawk Golf Club for membership information 9739939200.

    2019 Tournament Winners:
    Lake Mohawk Club Champion  Chris Ely
    18 Hole "A" Flight Winner  Debra Marcellus
    18 Hole "A" Flight Runner Up  Leslie Plifka
    9 Hole "A" Flight Winner  Barbara Rice
    9 Hole "B" Flight Runner Up  Nina Booth
    9 Hole "C" Flight Runner Up  Celeste Alonzo
    18 Hole Partners Tournament Winner  Lynne Kanofsky/Debra Marcellus
    18 Hole Partners Tournament RunnerUp  Chris Ely/Karen Johnson
    9 Hole Partners Tournament Winner  Barbara Rice/Jan Keefer
    9 Hole Partners Tournament RunnerUp  Barbara Urso/Esther Kashkin
    18 Hole Handicap Tournament Winner  Leslie Plifka
    18 Hole Handicap Tournament RunnerUp  Debra Marcellus
    9 Hole Handicap Tournament Winner  Nina Booth
    9 Hole Handicap Tournament RunnerUp  Faye Harac
    Most Improved 18 Holer  Debra Marcellus
    Most Improved 9 Holer  Melanie Ryder