Straus Newspapers' girls basketball all-stars

| 28 Sep 2011 | 02:47

    Jefferson three-peated as champions of the 2004-2005 Sussex County Interscholastic League girls' basketball campaign. The Falcons, who compiled a 20-4 record, claimed a triple crown by winning the SCIL regular season crown, the post-season SCIL Festival and the NJSIAA North Jersey, Section 1, Group II championship. Jefferson's Lisa Koch and Dedra Pritchard have been chosen to the 2004-2005 Straus Newspapers' Girls Basketball All Star First Team, selected by the staff of Koch, a senior point guard, averaged 15.4 points, 5.7 assists and 3.5 steals per game. Pritchard, a junior center, netted 339 points in 21 games, for an average of 16.1 points per game. High Point's Lauren Boyle has been chosen the Straus Newspapers' Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Boyle, a three-time SCIL All Star, led the league in scoring, averaging 16.3 points per game as she pumped 407 points through the iron in 25 games while converting 27 of 38 opportunities at the charity stripe. She completed her career as the Wildcats' second all-time career scorer with 1311 points and pulled down 644 rebounds for her career. Sparta, which finished with a 20-5 record, was represnted on the first team by senior Kaitlyn Prol and junior Staci Rossi. Prol popped 404 points through the twine including 63 field goals launched from outside the three-point perimeter. Rossi, who averaged 14.6 points and 7.3 assists per game was named the MVP of the SCIL Festival. Visit for a complete list of state, county, conference and print media all star teams. First Team Lauren Boyle, Sr. (High Point) Lisa Koch, Sr. (Jefferson) Dedra Pritchard, Jr. (Jefferson) Kaitlyn Prol, Sr. (Sparta) Staci Rossi, Jr. (Sparta) Second Team Carleen Allison, Sr. (Lenape Valley) Whitney Dugan, Jr. (Newton) Jami Gagg, So. (Wallkill Valley) Laura McKenna, Sr. (Jefferson) Kelly Patchell, Sr. (Vernon) Third Team Taylour Allen, So. (Pope John) Samantha DeAngelis, Sr. (Hopatcong) Tricia DiPaolo, So. (Lenape Valley) Tara Krohn, Jr. (High Point) Phelan Livingston, So. (Kittatinny) Honorable Mention: Lauren Baker (Sparta) Ashley Blanchard (Vernon) Crystal DeCarlo (Pope John) Sabrina Dervisivic (Sussex Tech) Caitlin Ehehelt (Newton) Christine Estevez (Hopatcong) Brittany Gerritsen (Jefferson) Amanda Sampey (Newton) Mallori Schueneman (Sparta) Aimee Storms (High Point) Nicole Van Tassell (Wallkill Valley)